Home The MOT Book Online Contact Us

   Unit 20, Forsters Yard. Quayside. Littlehampton. West Sussex BN17 5SF

   01903 725755



Driving and transport


MoT 2018 rule changes

What is changing and how it will affect you

From May 2018, new failure ratings will be introduced and a diesel loophole will be closed, making it harder for them to pass the test.

Under the new rules, the test will categorise defects and faults under three new categories - Dangerous, Minor and Major.

These new categories grade how severe and dangerous a fault is.

Minor faults may still pass the test, but they will be tagged up on the MoT certificate alongside advisory notices.

Cars that have Major or Dangerous defects will automatically fail the test.

The test will also make it harder for diesel cars to pass the test as part of the crackdown on cars producing ‘dirty’ and toxic emissions.

Diesel particulate filters (DPF) will now be rigorously checked and if it is found to have been removed or tampered with the car will fail.